How to eat an apple

21 Nov

I’m going to admit this right off the bat: this was inspired by a Buzzfeed post about how to eat an apple. I thought that video had to be a joke, so I decided to stage the experiment myself.

I decided to do this experiment during the day (also know as work hours) for two reasons:

1. We get a weekly delivery of fruit, which is awesome, but it also means I had what I needed for the experiment : an apple.

2. I was in need of a mid-afternoon snack when my computer decided to mysteriously shut down and then reboot. This occasionally happens and is a great mental break, although it is technically troubling.

And so I picked an apple, flipped it around and then took a few bites from the bottom.

Starting slowly... if my boss caught me, I would have assured them it was a creative exercise.

Starting slowly… if my boss caught me, I would have assured them it was a creative exercise.

At first, I was tentative, and I ate around the core… the hungrier I got the more bold I got:

Where did the stem and the core go?  Mind =  blown.

Where did the stem and the core go?
Mind = blown.

This is where I wished I had taken a video because I made some poor interns – who are likely much smarter than me – inspect the apple for not being a mutant core-less fruit.

Oh, there you are!

Oh, there you are!

When you get to the middle, you just pick out the seeds and keep going. No, really.

Looks like an optical illusion!

Looks like an optical illusion!

This was the really fascinating part as I realised I could eat an apple without food waste. Or, minimal waste…

Almost all gone!

Almost all gone!

I considered just eating the stem, but I wasn’t quite ready for that. This stayed on my messy desk for 10 mins as a reminder of all the other apple cores that I had wasted, and should never let to go to waste again.

So there you have it, kids! Buzzfeed is more than just a ride on the 90s nostalgia train. It also shares videos (this one from FoodBeast!) that make you think about how we can re-think food and food waste.

Go try this at home (or work!), go on, I dare you!

Leave a Reply

