Welcome to the neighbourhood!

15 Oct

Three recent facts about me:

1. I moved a month ago.

2. And I started a new job 4 days before the move.

3. And one week after moving, I had the bright idea of hosting a dinner party.

The last one is the really craziest of all thing that I’ve managed to pull off in a while. Maybe even more stunning than when I secured the new job and the new place within 24 hours. The whole dinner party was cooked up as a way to use my awesome outdoor space before winter settled into Toronto. In an email to the YYZ crew, I joked that it should be a YYZ Gourmand writers meeting, and that Nathan and MC would have a cook off. People laughed, asked me for more details and then I disappeared under a pile of work and moving boxes … and in my absence they thought that maybe I was serious. Never was I happier to have a joke be taken seriously. I even took it seriously myself. On the Saturday of the dinner party, on my way home from work, I realised that it was what Clementine had dubbed “YYZ Summit” day and that while I’d taken the time to clean the place up, I had bought absolutely zero things for my own dinner party.

Until then, my worst (dinner party) fear had been reserved to Bridget Jones levels of food failure and my guests being so bored that they leave early. I had never expected that I’d completely forget the food. Here’s where Majid and Nathan came to the rescue. They did so by taking me up on my dinner party dare and actually planning a cook off. And these boys were serious! 

Bresaola, lemon, parmesan, olive oil and pepper... Before Nathan served this to me in my own own, I'd only ever seen this served in restaurants!

Bresaola, lemon, parmesan, olive oil and pepper… Before Nathan served this to me in my own own, I’d only ever seen this served in restaurants!

Nathan, who had come in from Waterloo for the event, showed up with fresh bread and Monteforde cheese, couscous and vegetables from his own garden.

The lamb doing its last leg of marinating before being put on the grill...

The lamb doing its last leg of marinating before being put on the grill…

Majid had bought everything fresh that morning at the St. Lawrence Farmers Market. Including lamb steaks from his “lamb guy” which Majid marinated and prepped in a lemon garlic base.

Nathan's hands were hard at work while Clem and I enjoyed the fruit of his labour.

Nathan’s hands were hard at work while Clem and I enjoyed the fruit of his labour.

Clementine and I could have helped prep the food… but instead we sat in the living room and gossiped and wistfully wondered why I didn’t yet have cable so we could watch a baseball game. Feminism at work, folks.

Part of the spread that Clementine and I were digging into before we were supposed too. Opps!

Part of the spread that Clementine and I were digging into before we were supposed too. Opps! (And no, my plates don’t match. Don’t judge me!)

There was more food at the dinner table than there was at my family’s Thanksgiving dinner this past weekend! No matter how hearty our appetites, we just couldn’t finish it…

A feast for many, but served to four.

A feast for many, but served to four.

It was the best dinner party that I’ve ever had the pleasure of (accidentally?) hosting (and not cooking for). My gracious guests/cooks generously left with me all the leftovers… which fed me for the next 3 days. A good meal is all you need to feel instantly at home. Thanks for the welcome to my new hood, MC, Nathan and Clementine! Come over any time! (I’m serious, please do, I barely know how to feed myself!).

2 Responses to “Welcome to the neighbourhood!”

  1. magali October 21, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

    ha! that’s hilarious!
    remember how I asked you about how you felt about the size of the pics on your blog? I think my bowser is actually screwing up the pics on your site. This is the first post where I see your pictures really big, although only half of them seem to be the right size and the others are small like I usually see them. Weird!

    • yyz cherry October 22, 2013 at 9:55 am #

      Yes, I was playing around with the image sizes and seems like they didn’t standardize. I also wish there was something in between the medium and large!!!

Leave a Reply

