Haiku Thursdays: Ode to Great Lakes Brewery

22 Aug

 

I strike days from my

calendar; Autumn, come soon!

Thirst for Pumpkin Ale.

 

GLB Pumpkin Ale

GLB Pumpkin Ale

Oh Summer Lovers, stop gasping.  I love summer too and I’m only (half) joking.

Two of the greatest joys in my life are good beer (surprise, surprise) and the flavours of pumpkin pie that autumn inevitably brings.  So of course, whenever breweries try to combine both into one bottle, I am always intrigued.

I typically abstain from flavoured beers but am always willing to try anything and as such have been rewarded with a handful of exceptions that have made it into my regular purchasing cycle.  One of them is Great Lakes Brewery’s seasonal (wail!) Pumpkin Ale (5.5% ABV, 650 mL bottle).

GLB is recognized as Toronto’s first craft brewery and they clearly have fun doing what they do.  Not only do they create delightful puns (Audrey Hopburn Belgian IPA) but they’re also willing to venture into the unknown (Green Tea Ale with your spring roll, anyone?).

Their Pumpkin Ale (which would receive numerous Valentines from me IF this product was ever distributed beyond the fall season and through to spring), is made with actual pumpkin and has hints of cinnamon, clove, nutmeg and allspice.  What I like is that it’s precisely only hints of these flavours; it’s not overpowered at all by the tortured ghost of a wrongfully killed pumpkin pie.  You can taste pumpkin, but ultimately, it’s a refreshing beer.  It’s a beer you want to drink while relaxing with friends on haystacks after a day of apple picking.  Or while cozied up to a bonfire, camping under the changing colours of the forest.  Or hidden in a travellers mug while you dole out candies to the neighbourhood kids during Halloween…(what?).

It pours a nice cloudy light amber-orange and usually produces a decent head.  It goes great with harvest inspired crumble desserts, plain cheesecake, turkey dinner, or the last burger BBQ of the year.  It also goes well on its own (I call those ‘snack beers’!).

GLB’s Pumpkin Ale – try it this fall if you haven’t already and you’ll forget that the days are getting shorter.  Summer who?

One Response to “Haiku Thursdays: Ode to Great Lakes Brewery”

  1. magali September 2, 2013 at 11:32 am #

    Thanks for this review! I *love* pumpkin beer and the hubby is brewing a homemade one as I read this! Wish I could get my hands on one of these for our Great Pumpkin off that we’ll be having in October. Do they distribute outside of Ontario?

Leave a Reply

